Anxiously awaiting the Jazz Age – Great Gastby Trailer Released

The Great Gatsby…..what can I say. It is a classic, classic work of American Literature and one of my favorites. I must have read it a dozen times in college and since then, a dozen more. It inspires me. It touches me. The prose makes me want to crawl inside the book and live for a while. I love it that much and F. Scott Fitzgerald will forever be one of my literary heroes.

When I heard Baz Luhrmann was adapting the movie I filed the news away under my “movies I can’t wait to watch” list. I am a huge fan of Lurmann. I absolutely loved Moulin Rogue and when his adaptation of La Boheme arrived in San Francisco some years back, I was one of the first in line for tickets. What he does in translating period stories to stage and film, set alongside modern music, is nothing short of incredible. And while I was a bit concerned the movie wouldn’t translate well to film (I was not a fan of the 1974 version with Redford/Farrow), I did catch the trailer when it hit yesterday and have to say, I am intrigued. Not sure if it’s seeing New York in the Jazz Age or hearing Jack White’s cover of U2’s “Love is Blindness,” but I kinda can’t wait. Check out the trailer and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

