Some people hear their heartbeat, I hear a melody

As I go through my day I hear music. When I write I hear music. There is never a moment when I don’t hear music. Some people hear their heartbeat, I hear a melody.

Music moves me. It inspires me. It makes me think, wonder and remember. It can be the anesthetic to a rough day, or a laugh to accompany my smile. I can’t recall a moment when music wasn’t part of my life and I can’t think of a time that it ever won’t be.

While writing Aberration there were a few dozen songs that found themselves on repeat. Slowly that number found its way narrowed down until each found the chapter it was meant to accompany. I’ve gathered this music and shared on my author website as the playlist for my first book. Are they the songs I think of now? Not in every case. But in some cases the scene in the chapter that seemed to connect with the song on the playlist plays alongside so beautifully its a perfect fit.

The site is still undergoing some changes, so a new version is coming soon with better interaction and a crisper look and feel. But until then, I wanted to share the music that inspired me then and (coming soon!) the music that is inspiring me now. Want a sneak peek at what’s inspiring me as I work on  edits for my second book Bound, due this winter? Check it out…

I can’t wait to share more about Bound in the coming months. Until then, check out Aberration, the playlist that helped inspire the story, and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

