Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale Recap

If you’re a Game of Thrones fan then last night’s season finale was bittersweet. After just getting it back, we are now again in a holding position until April 2013 when it returns for season 3, picking up where book three of the series (A Storm of Swords) begins. This is bitter for me, as I love, love, love the show. But then there is the awesomeness which was last night’s episode, which I thought was the best of the season. And there you have the sweet.

So much happened, but I thought it wrapped up every storyline nicely. Disclosure: I haven’t read all the books. I am planning to read one after each season – a bit of a reversal of my typical approach for books adapted as movies/TV shows. But I love this show so much, I am deviating from my standard approach.

I was relieved Daenerys found her dragons (phew!) and then watched as one of her baby dragons burned the creepy thing in the House of the Undying. I was told this was written into the show and didn’t take place in the book. Is this true? If so, it was a great scene, just like last season’s finale where Daenerys walked out of the flames holding 3 baby dragons hatched from eggs thought to have been nothing more than shells. I’d like to see more with the dragons in the next season. They’re adorable. Yes, I said it, and I will say it again. They are adorable, and I love how they look to Daenerys as their mother.

I am terribly annoyed with Joffrey. He’s just a douchebag. I know he gets his, eventually, but I was hoping they would maybe speed that up in this season for the sake of giving the fans what they want. But I can wait for that. And for his bitch mother Cersi to go mad. Until then, it was nice to see Sansa let go from his creepy grasp (for now anyways) and a new woman (one that will do anything to be Queen) under his command.

Perhaps the best two parts of the night were 1) watching Arya’s assassin friend change his face in front of her and convey the words “Valar Morghulis”. It was creepy, but a nice subtle way to remind us that the world in which Game of Thrones is set is laced in magic.  And the best part by far, 2) watching the arrival of The Whitewalkers (or as known in the book, The Others). It was absolutely haunting and sent chills down my spine. I literally sat open mouthed watching as they approached, unable to breathe until the credits rolled.

Like the last four minutes of Lost, which I wrote about a few weeks back, if you never watch Game of Thrones this scene just might make a watcher out of you. And so, until 2013, here’s the final four minutes from last night’s Game of Thrones Season 2 finale.

Leave a Reply

