Why I Love Goodreads – AKA My introduction to Gillian Flynn

I am way behind on reviews. Music reviews. Movie reviews. And book reviews. But not just that. I am behind on writing, only recently diving back in to work on my fourth novel (books #2 and #3, the planned sequel and conclusion to my debut novel Aberration, waiting patiently for round two edits to prepare them for their winter 2012 (#2) and summer 2013 (#3) releases).

But I digress. I’m behind. But there’s a good reason.

There are just TOO MANY GODDAMNED GOOD BOOKS to read.  

Every morning I log into Goodreads on my way to work. I check out new reviews from friends, giveaways announced, and feedback on my own book, of course. And every morning wouldn’t you know it, a new book finds its way to my “To Read” list.

I don’t have as much as time as I used to. Working, and being a mom, and writing, and doing the hundred other things I do take a toll on my time. But despite this insane schedule, I try my best to read a book a week, powering through them on the commute to and from work (public transportation folks, no reading while driving) so that my nights can be spent toiling away at the keyboard and weekends spending time with my son.  I used to spend my lunch hours browsing the aisles of the bookstores, but now Goodreads and its lovely community of sharing has me doing it online and via smartphone.

In recent weeks I’ve added so many books to my list of planned reads, and while it should feel daunting, it’s exciting! To know the treasure of people, places and subjects waiting to be devoured…I can…not…wait.

I was super excited to learn about Cinder, a debut novel by Tacoma-based writer Marissa Meyer, described as a futuristic re-envisioning of Cinderella in which Cinder is a cyborg mechanic. And this morning, my jaw dropped when reading about Gillian Flynn’s book, Dark Places – a writer whom recently received praise for her hit, Gone Girl, and a writer Stephen King has called “the real deal…a sharp, acerbic, and compelling storyteller with a knack for the macabre.”

Check out the description for Dark Places below and let me know if it excites you! It’s a deviation from the “vampire-werewolf- zombie-angel-can’t live with you, can’t live without you” themed books I’ve been reading as of late, and I can’t wait. I can’t believe it’s taken me three years to discover this read. But thanks to the Goodreads community for introducing me.

Dark Places

By Gillian Flynn

Published May 5th 2009 by Crown Publishing Group

I have a meanness inside me, real as an organ.

Libby Day was seven when her mother and two sisters were murdered in “The Satan Sacrifice of Kinnakee, Kansas.” As her family lay dying, little Libby fled their tiny farmhouse into the freezing January snow. She lost some fingers and toes, but she survived–and famously testified that her fifteen-year-old brother, Ben, was the killer. Twenty-five years later, Ben sits in prison, and troubled Libby lives off the dregs of a trust created by well-wishers who’ve long forgotten her.

The Kill Club is a macabre secret society obsessed with notorious crimes. When they locate Libby and pump her for details–proof they hope may free Ben–Libby hatches a plan to profit off her tragic history. For a fee, she’ll reconnect with the players from that night and report her findings to the club . . . and maybe she’ll admit her testimony wasn’t so solid after all.

As Libby’s search takes her from shabby Missouri strip clubs to abandoned Oklahoma tourist towns, the narrative flashes back to January 2, 1985. The events of that day are relayed through the eyes of Libby’s doomed family members–including Ben, a loner whose rage over his shiftless father and their failing farm have driven him into a disturbing friendship with the new girl in town. Piece by piece, the unimaginable truth emerges, and Libby finds herself right back where she started–on the run from a killer.

4 thoughts on “Why I Love Goodreads – AKA My introduction to Gillian Flynn

Leave a Reply

