Death is the new black…well for some

There’s a reason I’m obsessed with books and TV shows and movies about vampires. I’m scared of death. And dying. I’m afraid of death and dying, there I said it. I know it’s irrational. Of anything in this life that is guaranteed it’s death, so why fear the imminent? I don’t know. Same  indescribable fear I have with tunnels, elevators, clowns, long black haired children with dark eyes in scary movies, and oh the ending of Blair Witch – seriously, that standing in the corner shot at the end WTF???? Vampires defy death – except for when they stand in the sun or get staked in the heart (depending the mythology rhyme and reason). So, its only rational that a being which looks death in the eye and flips it the bird is something I can appreciate, right? Ok, well maybe its not the best reasoning, but it’s the one I’ve got. They make for good book, movie, TV show fodder anyhow, can you buy that? No. Well how about Ian Somerhalder as Damon Salvatore. Will you buy that?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well if you don’t buy any of those reasonings, then at least you can rest at night knowing you know something about me: I am scared to death to die.

That said, my interest in beings that look death in the eye ends with the world of TV, movies and books and does not extend into the real world as say one such magazine. A work friend shared this with me the other day and I couldn’t believe it when I saw it. But low and behold on the magazine stand, there it was. It may be a joke, maybe not. Not sure. If not, are there really enough people out there (specifically, girls)  who don’t fear death and actually well, as you can see, want to sit on its lap? That’s just gross. And creepy. And just not funny, no matter how many stiff jokes you come up with.

 

One thought on “Death is the new black…well for some

Leave a Reply

