The Host trailer meets Imagine Dragons

If you follow my blog you know I am a HUGE fan of the novel The Host. Personally, I think its Meyer’s better work outside of the Twilight series. It tackles much more complex issues like… what happens to earth after an alien invasion, and what happens when an alien takes over your body and falls in love with the people you love. OK – that was a joke. But seriously, it does tackle some pretty serious issues and weaves them into a story that no matter how hard I tried, became totally and completely obsessed by. And its not just me! I shared the same “trust me, read it, you will see” pitch to a few friends and they loved it too!  I loved the book that much. I mean, I loved, loved, loved the book! So much so I read it three times back-to-back to make sure I got every detail, every nuance.

I also have  not keep it a secret that when I heard they were casting for the film adaptation of the book (scheduled to hit theaters March 2013) I was nervous. The names that were being thrown around didn’t seem to fit – and those finally cast, hard to see as the characters I came to love. We were treated to a sneak peak of a trailer which was nothing if not lame. I know, I know…filming was in process and there was no footage to actually use. HOWEVER, just a few days ago fans were treated to a new trailer for the film which is a REAL TRAILER. And guess what…it’s good! It’s better than that. It actually shows they were able to keep the story pretty much intact and not deviate when adapting for film, as is the case with so many books that get made into movies.  And, there was a treat…a current favorite of mine, Imagine Dragon’s new song “Radioactive” is featured in the trailer which can only mean one thing: the soundtrack is poised to be, like the Twilight soundtracks, damn good!

Here’s the new trailer. Take a look and let me know what you think. And if you like the song, check out their other hit, “It’s Time” also from their debut album, Night Visions.

 

Leave a Reply

