Kicking 2013 to the curb with DJ Earworm’s “United State of Pop 2013: Living the Fantasy”

I for one, wasn’t sad to see 2013. And I know I’m not alone.  I think the year sucked. On one had, I landed my dream job, which was pretty incredible, and met some incredible new people and traveled a bit, to places new and familiar. On the other, it well, kinda sucked. The energy was weird, the struggles, when they occurred, were big, and I just felt this black cloud looming overhead all year long. I can’t say anything nice about 2013 other than I’m glad its over.

However…

DJ Earworm, AKA Jordan Roseman, a San Francisco-based mashup artist, released his annual “United State of Pop” mashup in mid December – an ode to 2013 called “Living the Fantasy.” Featuring the top 25 songs of the year including Avicii’s “Wake Me Up,” Imagine Dragons’ “Radioactive,” Lorde’s “Royals” and Miley Cyrus’ “Wrecking Ball” pretty heavily,  I think it is not only his best United States of Pop mashup yet, but one of the best pieces of music I have heard in a long, long time. He has to be a mad genius to bring together so many songs and tell a story – and pull together a video to accompany as well. I was sure he had some help there, but apparently he does that, too. See where trolling away on your Macbook can take you?

I play it daily. It makes me happy. It reminds me that while 2013 may have been a year of black clouds and twerking, there was some good tunes in it and they deserve to be celebrated. It also reminds me that ding dong, the year past is gone and 2014 has arrived with great energy and  signs it just may be a pretty damn good year.

Leave a Reply

