Vampire Diaries Season Six Finale Recap – Goodbye Elena, Hello Steroline

I have a hard time letting go. Of people. Of moments of time. Of things I love. Even TV shows, as silly as they may sound. When they’re over — for the season or for good — I am usually stuck in those last moments for a little while, thinking, processing. And just when I think to myself “Ok D, time to move on, you’re being silly,” I think no. That’s what they are about. Shows, and books, and movies, and music, they are meant to make us feel. To think. To watch and question and discuss the lives of others because in doing so, we may better understand ourselves, our own lives, and the world around us. Yeah, TV does that, at least for me.

Say what you will but TV has turned out some of the most powerful performances I’ve seen on a screen, TV or silver.  The end scene from last year’s season finale of The Originals. The series finale of Being Human, when Aidan gets his door. The closing sequence of Lost’s grand exit. Those were some of the most thought provoking, heart wrenching moments for me.  And that’s just a few that I like. There are countless others, but those are a few that no matter when I watch get me every. single. time.

So, what’s the most recent finale to grab my heart? Last week’s finale of The Vampire Diaries, “I’m thinking Of You All the While.” Saying Goodbye to Elena …I will admit, it got to me. And not just because we were saying goodbye to Nina Dobrev, but because we were saying goodbye to that chapter of the series (and some will say the series ultimate demise because which show can go on with the exit of its main character) and moving on to a new one.  It will no doubt be a new show without its main character, and after the traumatic events at Jo and Alaric’s wedding, I’m curious how the show can go anywhere but into darkness. I have always loved the Salvatore brothers and do think their story is at the heart of the show, so it’s anyone’s bet really.

I’m into this show. And no, not in that “I am almost 40 and think I am a teen” kind of way. I am into it because it’s a really, really good show. Julie Plec is an amazing writer and has done a great good job over the past six years turning this little show that could, into a dramatic, exciting, heart warming, sad, comedic, and emotional program that makes the lives of vampires and witches and werewolves something you can’t help but watch. You want the characters to find their slice of happiness. You wanted Elena to be human again. You wanted Damon to save Bonnie, even though it meant saying goodbye to his soul mate for the next 60+ years. You wanted Stefan to proclaim his love for Caroline, and for Tyler to trigger his werewolf curse and move on. And Kai – the villain we loved to hate – we wanted him to die, but knew it meant that with it, meant having no way of freeing Elena from his spell unless it meant the death of her best friend. And the goodbye scenes between Elena and her friends… So. Many. Feels.  Each a throwback to some of the shows first moments.

Damon and Elena’s last scene together, that dance…what can I say. I had a lump in my throat. It was everything we wanted for these two since their first dance back in season one. It was the moment of tenderness between two who fought hard to be together and when it mattered most, wanted just one more dance to be together before having to say goodbye for what would feel like forever. But we know it wasn’t  forever. Just a few decades. Or until Bonnie dies. And since Ms. Dobrev has left the show, that’s most likely when the series comes to a close since Kai snuck in that sneaky little clause that if anyone tried to break it, both would die.  (But on a side note for a moment: if anyone did want to try to break it, I know of two powerful witches over on The Originals who despite being relegated to ash will most likely reappear again sometime, as always, and hey, they could try their magic on Klaus’ spell. They are the mother of witches and vampires after all). But back to the dance…It was beautifully shot and the music, Ross Copperman’s Hunger – so perfect. Not to mention, a sneak peek at the next epic love that will pull us in, Stefan and Caroline. Wow, how far has this show come in six years for that to happen.

I know there are many who will stop watching – without Dobrev there’s no triangle, no Katherine Pierce, no love for Damon to center his every action around. But I am. I want to know where Julie Plec will take us. With the introduction of Heretics (vampire/witch hybrids) we know she is capable of taking us somewhere  we never thought possible – I mean really, she figured out the perfect way to allow Nina Dobrev her exit and not by killing the character. And then there’s TVD’s spin-off The Originals. That show is incredible.. And with the focus being on the Salvatore brothers — their  at the heart of the show for me, since the beginning — it’s anyone’s bet really. I think we’re in for quite a ride.

Until next fall, you can find me listening to the season six soundtrack and watching that exquisite dance over and over, thinking of it “All the While.”

Leave a Reply

